Building Better Clouds // +49 6221 3760 148 // contact@wintercloud.de

Managed CI/CD Services

There are numerous CI/CD tools, most of them open-source and with overlapping features. Tool decisions within teams of a company are often made based on existing skills within that team. While this is not unsound per se and comes with certain advantages, it will ultimately lead to a complex tool landscape across the company as each self-organized team will not choose the same tool for the same task. Once certain key technology experts, who were part of the decision process, left the company, the advantages of those tools might be negligible. This is the classic story of a how tool chaos is being created and people start wondering why this was not decided centrally for all teams in the first place.

managed-services

Our added value

That's exactly what we are here for - to be your central point of contact for all your CI/CD requests. We stay up-to-date with the latest CI/CD tools and evaluate their different approaches. Additionally we are backed up by our experience of best practices which tools work best in production environments and which of them work well together. Following this approach, we try to keep the amount of tools to a minimum while covering all common CI/CD tasks to not get lost in a tool, framework, and language chaos.

In our experience it is more sustainable to introduce a few new tools and close knowledge gaps fast instead of make biased decisions. As result every team is working together, can help each other better, and even reuse common functions. Besides, teams can be switched quite seamlessly from a technical point of view.

We are happy to get to know you, your use cases, and requirements so that we can recommend the most suitable tools for your workflow and support your team to get started with them. Once implemented, you can be sure that there is no havoc within the productive tool usage and that they work well together. To get a sound overview about the different tools out there, have a look at the periodic table of DevOps tools of XebiaLabs an the Technology Radar of ThoughtWorks.

Going beyond our consultancy services, we also host and manage selected CI/CD solutions: CI/CD BUILT4.CLOUD SaaS - We operate those services cloud optimized as this enables us to design CI/CD workflows way more flexible to save infrastructure costs. Our CI/CD BUILT4.CLOUD SaaS solutions have a strong focus on data privacy and therefore offer a unique service for you. As we just released those services quite recently, they do not cover every CI/CD aspect yet but they are stable. Most importantly, it will enable you to focus even more on your clients while you can be sure that the pipeline is running.

Building Better Clouds // +49 6221 3760 148 // contact@wintercloud.de

Managed CI/CD Services

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von CI/CD Tools, viele davon Open-Source und mit überschneidenden Features. Innerhalb der Teams in einer Firma werden Tools oft danach ausgewählt welche Kompetenzen in dem Team schon vorhanden sind. Dies ist nicht grundsätzlich verkehrt und hat natürlich seine Vorteile aber führt zwangsläufig zu einer komplexen Tool-Landschaft, da verschiedene selbstorganisierte Teams verschiedene Tools auswählen. Wenn dann auch noch verschiedene Wissensträger das Team unter Umständen verlassen sind die Vorteile der verwendeten Tools oft vernachlässigbar und man wundert sich warum das nicht von Anfang an zentralisiert entschieden wurde.

Unser Mehrwert

Genau hier kommen wir ins Spiel um Euer zentraler Ansprechpartner für alle CI/CD Fragen zu sein. Wir haben die CI/CD Tools im Blick und evaluieren die verschiedenen Ansätze. Zusätzlich können wir auf einen reichen Erfahrungsschatz zurückgreifen, welche Tools sich gut in der Praxis in Produktionsumgebungen bewährt haben und welche gut miteinander funktionieren. Dabei versuchen wir mit so wenig wie möglich Tools alle CI/CD Aufgabengebiete abzudecken um nicht im Tool-, Framework- und Sprachenchaos zu versinken.

Somit ist es aus unserer Sicht besser einige wenige Tools neu einzuführen und die Wissenslücken einmalig schnell auszugleichen anstatt voreingenommene Entscheidungen zu treffen. So zieht jedes Team am gleichen Strang, der Synergieeffekt zwischen den Teams ist größer und der Teamwechsel reibungsloser.

Gerne kommen wir zu Euch, empfehlen welche Tools basierend auf Euren Anforderungen am meisten Sinn machen und führen diese in Euren Teams ein, ggf. auch mit einer kurzen Schulung. Somit könnt Ihr Euch sicher sein, dass es keinen Wildwuchs gibt sondern alles aus einer Hand kommt und gut miteinander funktioniert. Um eine gute Basis für einen ersten Überblick der verschiedenen Tools zu erhalten, schaut euch die DevOps Tools Periodentabelle von XebiaLabs und den Technology Radar von ThoughtWorks an.

Um noch einen Schritt weiter zu gehen hosten und managen wir auch ausgewählte CI/CD Lösungen für Euch: CI/CD BUILT4.CLOUD SaaS - Diese stellen wir Cloud-optimiert zur Verfügung, da wir so wesentlich flexibler und kostengünstiger CI/CD Workflows gestalten können. Bei diesen CI/CD BUILT4.CLOUD SaaS-Lösungen legen wir starken Wert auf Datenschutz und sind so in dieser Kombination einzigartig. Dieser Service ist von uns noch recht neu und daher noch nicht so umfangreich aber stabil. Wichtig ist, dass Ihr Euch so noch mehr auf Eure Kunden konzentrieren könnt und sicher seien könnt, dass die Pipeline läuft.