Building Better Clouds // +49 6221 3760 148 // contact@wintercloud.de

Serverless Cloud Security

Security BUILT4.CLOUD - Contact us via a secure channel to learn more about security in the cloud and how we can implement secure cloud infrastructures together using a serverless approach.

How is security in the cloud different from my data center?

In the cloud you "only" need to worry about securing the cloud services that you use. This responsibility by itself is already challenging enough but unburdens you from the responsibility to provide and secure the data center facilities, physical hardware, and networking services - this separation is commonly called the shared responsibility model. Depending on your selected cloud services, the cloud provider may even handle the patching and configuration management. Less control for you? Certainly - But probably also more secure than your data center. The core competency of cloud providers lies in the ability to provide, maintain, and operate infrastructure that is secure by design. This is their core business model and therefore has the main focus and gets the necessary resources allocated. The idea behind moving to the cloud is that you can focus on your core business (e.g. developing software) while the cloud provides the necessary IT infrastructure for you (e.g. to run your applications globally).

This entire model is based on your trust towards your selected cloud provider(s). This trust is maintained by several certifications that the cloud provider holds as well as regular audits by external authorities. This certifies a certain level of security which you can use as decision base for the selection of your cloud providers / cloud services and should naturally meet with your compliance regulations.

A serverless approach to security in AWS

After answering why it is for most use cases secure to move to the cloud and assuming you trust your selected cloud providers, we have to focus on securing the single services that you use within the cloud. This is entirely your responsibility and we are here to support you with that.

We focus on AWS as cloud provider because it offers the most mature services and gives you the most control over security in the cloud. Additionally, AWS often sets industry standards which are implemented by other cloud providers. Therefore, we can often transfer those best practices to other cloud providers - learn form the industry leaders and apply it everywhere.

Additionally, AWS shines when it comes to serverless services. Of course, everything runs on servers in the end (hence a typical misnomer) but there is no server that you need to take care of, only the service. Another characteristic that defines serverless for us is that you are only charged for the actual amount of resources that you use. AWS provides comprehensive services tailored for security in the cloud of which most of them can be used as a managed serverless service. We use a combination of the following serverless services in AWS to secure your infrastructure and AWS accounts:

  • IAM: Control and manage access to AWS resources
  • CloudTrail: Monitor and log API calls to your AWS account; often used as trigger for automatic countermeasure
  • CloudWatch: Central target for log files which can be analyzed; trigger alarms based on metrics
  • GuardDuty: Threat detections based on log file analysis of CloudTrail, VPC, and DNS
  • Inspector: Run vulnerability scans against EC2 instances and network configurations
  • Config: Create resource inventory, assess your compliance status, and track inventory changes
  • Shield: Managed DDOS protection (standard protection enabled by default)
  • Systems Manager: Run commands against a fleet of instances, patch instances, secure SSH access to instances
  • Firewall Manager: Central management of all WAF rules

Let's not stop here but go to the next layer: Improving the security and data protection of your applications that run in the cloud or on-premises. We integrate a combination of the following serverless services in your application to achieve this:

  • KMS: Secure access control and key management for encryption keys
  • CloudHSM: Dedicated HSM for high compliance needs; can be used to store KMS keys
  • Secrets Manager & Parameter Store: Management, rotation, and storage of encrypted secrets (e.g. for your applications)
  • WAF: Inspect HTTPS traffic and protect CloudFront, ALB, and API Gateway resources
  • ACM: Management of SSL certificates - public and private ones

Keep in mind that some of these services can even be used to secure your on-premises infrastructure or applications.

Our added value

We will support you with your "security in the cloud" responsibility by mapping your compliance requirements with these services or with similar services of other cloud providers. For general guidance and secure multi cloud provider architectures we also apply best practices of the Cloud Security Alliance, specifically the CSA Security Guidance for Critical Areas of Focus in Cloud Computing.

While designing your cloud architecture, we work closely together with your security department and implement this architecture together with them following Infrastructure as Code. During this process we identify the responsible stakeholders and teams that will operate the infrastructure and guide them through tailored knowledge transfer sessions. The result is a well documented and secure cloud architecture that can be maintained by the responsible teams. Alternatively, if your cloud infrastructure is already up and running, we can review it according to best practices and standards to optimize it where needed.

Why with us?

We are passionate Cloud-Natives and our business grew with AWS. We do not only focus on cloud security projects but every project comes with cloud security challenges - sometimes more, sometimes less. We challenge each solution and architecture that we design or evaluate on best practices in regards to infrastructure security, least privileges, data protection, compliance, and vendor lock-in restrictions. We are Select member of the AWS Consulting Partner Network (APN) and of course hold a AWS Certified Security - Specialty certification. Let's Build Secure Clouds Together!

aws-partner-logo
aws-security-specialty-badge

Building Better Clouds // +49 6221 3760 148 // contact@wintercloud.de

Serverless Cloud Security

Security BUILT4.CLOUD - Kontaktiere uns, gerne über einen unserer sicheren Kommunikationskanäle, um mehr über Sicherheit in der Cloud zu erfahren und wie wir zusammen sichere Cloud Infrastrukturen komplett Serverless aufzubauen können.

Wie unterscheidet sich Sicherheit in der Cloud von meinem Rechenzentrum?

In der Cloud musst Du Dich "nur" um die Absicherung der Services kümmern die Du in der Cloud verwendest. Diese Verantwortlichkeit allein ist schon sehr umfassend und herausfordernd, entlastet einen aber von der Verantwortung sich auch um die Bereitstellung und Absicherung der physischen Infrastruktur, der Hardware, und der Netzwerkanbindung zu kümmern - man spricht auch vom Modell der gemeinsamen Verantwortung (shared responsibility model). Je nach verwendeten Cloud Service übernimmt der Cloud Anbieter sogar auch die Patch-Verwaltung und das Konfigurationsmanagement. Diese Aufteilung bedeutet in jedem Fall weniger Kontrolle über die Infrastruktur aber in den allermeisten Fällen bedeutet dies auch ein höheres Sicherheitslevel der Infrastruktur verglichen mit dem eigenen Rechenzentrum. Die Kernkompetenz eines Cloud Anbieters besteht darin Infrastruktur bereitzustellen die den höchsten Sicherheitsanforderungen genügt, sowie diese so ausfallsicher wie möglich zu betreiben und zu warten. Dies ist das Kerngeschäftsmodell und hat die höchste Priorität im Unternehmen, sodass hierfür alle notwendigen Ressourcen bereit stehen. Eines der zentralen Motive von Firmen in die Cloud zu ziehen, ist es sich wieder mehr auf das eigene Kerngeschäft konzentrieren zu können (z.B. die Softwareentwicklung) während man die notwendige IT Infrastruktur eines Cloud Anbieters nutzt (um z.B. Applikationen global für Kunden bereitzustellen).

Dieses Modell beruht natürlich auf dem Vertrauen das Du in die ausgewählten Cloud Anbieter hast. Dieses Vertrauen wird durch Zertifizierungen des Cloud Anbieters und durch regelmäßige Audits externer Institutionen aufgebaut und erhalten. Dadurch kann dem Cloud Anbieter ein gewisses Sicherheitslevel attestiert werden, welches einem als Entscheidungsgrundlage für die Auswahl eines Cloud Anbieters bzw. Services dient. Diese Entscheidung sollte sich dann auch mit den gesetzlichen Anforderungen und Richtlinien decken die man einzuhalten hat.

Sicherheit in AWS basierend auf Serverless Services

Nachdem wir wissen warum es für die meisten Anwendungen sicherer ist in die Cloud zu ziehen, und wir uns für einen Cloud Anbieter entschieden haben dem wir vertrauen, müssen wir uns um die Absicherung der einzelnen Cloud Services kümmern die Du innerhalb der Cloud nutzt oder nutzen willst. Hier handelt es sich nach dem shared responsibility model komplett um Deine Verantwortung und wir wollen Dich genau dabei unterstützen.

Wir haben uns auf AWS als Cloud Anbieter fokussiert, da AWS die ausgereiftesten Cloud Services am Markt anbietet und Dir auch die meiste Kontrolle über die Sicherheit in der Cloud bietet. Außerdem definiert AWS oft Industriestandards welche dann nach und nach auch von anderen Cloud Anbietern übernommen werden. So können wir oft Konzepte und Best Practices für andere Cloud Anbieter übernehmen - wir lernen also zusammen vom Marktführer und können die Lösungen überall gezielt einzusetzen.

Außerdem ist AWS führend wenn es um Serverless Services geht. Klar, am Ende läuft alles auf Servern ab (also eine typische Fehlbezeichnung) aber tatsächlich musst Du Dich nur um die Konfiguration des Services kümmern und nicht mehr um den Server an sich. Ein weiteres wichtiges Kriterium, was für uns einen wahren Serverless Service ausmacht ist, dass Dir nur die tatsächlich genutzten Ressourcen berechnet werden. AWS bietet umfassende Services an die sich speziell auf Sicherheit in der Cloud fokussieren, von denen die meisten als Serverless Service genutzt werden können. Wir verwenden einen Kombination der folgenden Serverless Services in AWS um Deine Infrastruktur und Deine AWS Accounts zu schützen:

  • IAM: Kontrolle und Verwaltung über den Zugriff auf AWS Ressourcen
  • CloudTrail: Nachverfolgung und Aufzeichnung von API Aufrufen in Deinem AWS Account; wird auch oft als Trigger für automatisierte Gegenmaßnahmen verwendet
  • CloudWatch: Zentraler Monitor- und Log-Service um Anwendungen und Ressourcen zu überwachen; basierend auf Metriken können Alarme definiert werden
  • GuardDuty: Bedrohungserkennung (threat detection) basierend auf Analyse der CloudTrail, VPC und DNS Log-Dateien
  • Inspector: Automatische Sicherheitsscans von EC2-Instanzen und Netzwerkkonfigurationen
  • Config: Inventur aller AWS Ressourcen, Überwachung deren Veränderung, sowie Überprüfung des Compliance-Status
  • Shield: Schutz gegen DDoS-Attacken (Standard-Schutz automatisch aktiv)
  • Systems Manager: Ausführen von Befehlen gegen viele EC2-Instanzen gleichzeitig, sowie Patch-Verwaltung und Bereitstellung eines sicheren SSH Zugangs
  • Firewall Manager: Zentrale Verwaltung aller WAF-Regeln

Hier sollten wir aber nicht aufhören sondern weiter auf die nächste Ebene schauen: Die Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Datenschutzes Deiner Anwendungen die in der Cloud oder on-premises laufen. Um das zu erreichen integrieren wir eine Kombination der nachfolgenden Serverless Services in Deine Anwendungen:

  • KMS: Sichere Verwaltung und Administration von Schlüsseln zur Verschlüsselung
  • CloudHSM: Dedizierte HSM für hohe Compliance-Anforderungen; kann auch als Speicher für KMS Schlüssel verwendet werden
  • Secrets Manager & Parameter Store: Verwaltung, Rotation und Speicher verschlüsselter Secrets (z.B. für Deine Anwendung)
  • WAF: Überwachung und Filter von HTTPS Datenverkehr um CloudFront, ALB und API Gateway Ressourcen zu schützen
  • ACM: Verwaltung von SSL Zertifikaten - sowohl öffentliche als auch private

Manche dieser Services können sogar auch dazu verwendet werden um die eigene on-premises Infrastruktur oder Anwendung abzusichern.

Unser Mehrwert

Wir unterstützen Dich bei Deiner "Sicherheit in der Cloud" Verantwortlichkeit indem wir Deine Sicherheitsanforderungen mit den oben genannten Services oder ähnlichen Services anderer Cloud Anbieter abbilden. Um ausgereifte Multi-Cloud Architekturen aufzubauen wenden wir außerdem die Leitlinien und Best Practices der Cloud Security Allicance (CSA) an, im Detail die CSA Security Guidance for Critical Areas of Focus in Cloud Computing.

Beim Design Deiner Cloud Architektur arbeiten wir eng mit Deiner IT Sicherheitsabteilung zusammen und implementieren die Architektur anschließend gemeinsam - immer basierend auf Infrastructure as Code. Dabei ist es uns auch wichtig die verantwortlichen Stakeholder und Teams mit einzubeziehen die diese Architektur betreuen und warten werden, um sie mit gezielten Wissenstransfer-Sessions auf die neue Rolle vorzubereiten. Das Ergebnis ist eine gut dokumentierte und sichere Cloud Infrastruktur die von den verantwortlichen Teams administriert und gewartet werden kann. Falls bei Dir schon eine Cloud Infrastruktur genutzt wird, können wir alternativ diese auch basierend auf Best Practices und Industriestandards überprüfen und wo nötig optimieren.

Warum mit uns?

Wir sind Cloud-Natives aus Leidenschaft und sind beruflich mit AWS aufgewachsen. Wir fokussieren uns nicht nur auf Cloud Security Projekte aber jedes Projekt umfasst Cloud Security Herausforderungen - mal mehr, mal weniger. Wir überprüfen jede Lösung und Architektur die wir entwickeln basierend auf den Best Practices in folgenden Bereichen: IT Infrastruktur Sicherheit, Least Privilege Prinzipien, Datenschutzanforderungen, Compliance-Richtlinien und Vendor Lock-in Einschränkungen. Wir sind zudem Select Mitglied im AWS Consulting Partner Network (APN) und haben natürlich auch eine AWS Certified Security - Specialty Zertifizierung. Let's Build Secure Clouds Together!

aws-partner-logo
aws-security-specialty-badge